How to Choose a Business to Invest Your Time and Energy

Posted on Updated on

How to Choose a Business to Invest Your Time and Energy

Are you new into business and you are wondering, what kind of business of business do I start with that will worth my time and energy? More often than not, people have come to me privately and online saying; “Sir, I want to be an Entrepreneur, I want to start my own business or I want to invest my money but I don’t know the kind of business to do. Can you help me?” The surprising thing about this is that some of these people call from far away countries I have never travelled to. But since the world of business cuts across tribes, religions and landmarks, my advices have always proven to be effective. Some of them say “it works like magic.” Why? Because this is something I am passionate about.
Those solutions, advices and instructions I gave them that has made them successful are what I will be repeating in today’s post. The essence of choosing the right business that will worth your time and energy is for your passion and desire to be successful in that line of business to flow naturally. But if it does not, I bet you you will struggle as an Entrepreneur.

Recently, a friend of mine I talked into his best and perfect choice of business which led to him quitting his job to move into importation made me his regional distributor (Of course that’s one of my passive income channels). This is to let you know that the ideas I share here are no child’s play. By the time you finish reading this article your eyes will be more opened to know if the business you are doing now is the best business for you, and if it not, this article will open you up without delay to the kind of business that suits your person.

Making a choice of business to do can most times be difficult. That is why you see people that have the money but do not know what to do with it. Probably the money in the bank was willed to them. Even as a blogger, or one who wants to start a career in blogging, knowing the kind of online business to do is necessary. It will help you in making the best choice of blogging platform, blogging niche, writing tone and complementary online or offline businesses.

Why is it necessary that you choose the right business to do?
At the beginning of this article I said it is for the purpose of having the passion and desire flow naturally but here and now, I will be more detailed. As a young man with the burning desire to be successful and see the world around me transformed, I went into blogging. Here am I in the blogging world but Emchis Consulting was neither the first nor the second blog I built – it is my third. I became a colossal failure in the first and second blog I developed because I didn’t choose the right business to do. As a matter of fact, one of those blogs was built as an online magazine (and recently, Know Magazine has asked me for a merge). Why am I telling you all these? Because “Business” is a very vast field and if you just wake up and say “I want to become an Entrepreneur” without putting into consideration the kind of business to do that will worth your time and energy, there’s no doubt you will regret it. This is why some of your friends who tried and failed ran back to their paid jobs.

In choosing the best business to do that will worth your time and energy – here are simple tips to guide you:

1. Start with what you know
Nothing can be more frustrating like choosing a line of business where you must be told how to do everything. It will make you pay more than you ought to in getting a project executed. Tony Hsieh, the CEO of Zappos said; “Don’t play games you don’t understand even if you see lots of other people making money from them.” In choosing the right business that is worth investing your time and energy you must be certain it is a line of business you know something about or know someone who knows someone that knows very much about the business.

2. Start with what people want
There’s no need producing what you like if it is not what the people want. In choosing the kind of business to do you must survey what the wants of the people in your locality are, how many businesses are attempting to meet their demands and how efficient those businesses have been in doing that. If you can factor these things out before moving into that line of business with a high level of competitive spirit, I can guarantee you a huge success ahead.

3. Consider the environment you can afford to pay its bills
Some businesses will thrive well in California than it will do in New York especially when you consider the cost of mortgage.

4. Start with what you have passion for
This is without doubt the kind of business that brings you your highest pay in life. Not only will it bring you joy, it also brings satisfaction and fulfillment. Come to think of Bill Gates (who was passionate about fixing computers, he said; “we were young, but we had good advice and lots of enthusiasm”), Michael Dell (who was passionate about building cheaper and affordable computer), Aliko Dangote, the richest black man in the world who was passionate about manufacturing, and Mark Zuckerberg, the founder of Facebook who was passionate the internet and social networking. Mark Zuckerberg, the youngest billionaire said; “if you just work on stuff that you like and you’re passionate about, you don’t have to have a master plan with how things will play out.”

5. Don’t limit yourself to your certificate
It is not necessary that the business you must do will be connected to your certificate. Choose a business based on what you know not necessarily your certificate.

6. What’s your motivation for the business you may likely choose? Are you in it for the money or for the lives that will be touched through your business? You must reposition your mind before you choose a business to invest your time and energy.

Special Announcement:
To be a part of the upcoming EMCHIS FINANCIAL EMPOWERMENT SUMMIT every Saturday from 5:00PM to 8:00PM Nigerian time, like me on facebook and I will send you an invitation to join the group chat and share ideas with other Entrepreneurs around the world.

Leave your comments here

